+607-5534043 / 34046 / 33542

The Faculty of Science currently offers 14 postgraduate programmes leading to the Masters of Science, Master of Philosophy and Doctor of Philosophy Degrees in areas of mathematics, chemistry, physics and bioscience. Below is the list of all the postgraduate programs offered by the Faculty of Science.




MSCH2 Master of Science in Mathematics Mixed Mode Mathematical Sciences
MSCT3 Master of Philosophy Mathematic Research
MSCE2 Master of Science in Engineering Mathematics Mixed Mode
PSCT3 Doctor of Philosophy Mathematic Research
MSCC2 Master of Science (Chemistry) Mixed Mode Chemistry
MSCC3 Master of Philosophy Chemistry Research
MSCQ1 Master of Forensic Science Taught Course
PSCC3 Doctor of Philosophy Chemistry Research
MSCP2 Master of Science in Physics Mixed Mode Physics
MSCZ3 Master of Philosophy Physic Research
PSCZ3 Doctor of Philosophy Physic Research
MSCB2 Master of Science (Biotechnology) Mixed Mode Biosciences
MSCS3 Master of Philosophy Biosciences Research
PSCS3 Doctor of Philosophy Biosciences Research
PSCG3 Doctor Of Philosopy Research Generic


The normal duration of study for full time students are 2–8 semesters (1–4 years) for Masters programmes and 6–16 semesters (3–8 years) for the Doctor of Philosophy programmes. 

Additional Courses

Each programme requires postgraduate students to take at least one of the University compulsory courses listed here. In addition, all research students must enroll in a research methodology course:

  • USCP 6013 – Research Methodology (HW)

International Students

International students are required to take 3 credit hours of the following university courses:

  • UHAZ 6123 – Malaysian Society and Culture (international students of non-Malay race)
  • UHAZ 6323 – Bahasa Malaysia Penulisan Ilmiah (international students of Malay race)
Postgraduate Studies, Faculty of Science