+607-555 7549(Office), +607-553 1279(F) bioscdirector@utm.my

5 Oct 2020

A virtual MoU signing ceremony between Universiti Teknologi Malaysia and University of York, United Kingdom was held on 5 October 2020. The MoU was signed by Professor Dr.  Abdull Rahim Mohd Yusoff, Dean, Faculty of Science (UTM) and Professor Dr. Brian Fulton, Dean of the Faculty of Sciences (UoY) witnessed by Professor Dr. Neil Bruce and Dr Chong Chun Shiong.

The MoU was initiated from research collaboration under Newton Fund projects awarded to Prof Dr. Neil Bruce and Dr Chong Chun Shiong (Co-investigators: Prof. Dr. Simon McQueen-Mason, Prof. Datin Dr Zaharah Ibrahim, Prof. Dr. Lindsay C. Stringer, Prof. Dr. Zainura Zainon Noor, Assoc. Prof. Dr. Madihah Md Salleh, Assoc. Prof. Dr. Goh Kian Mau, Dr Deborah Rathbone and Dr. Adibah Yahya (previous posts:




The aim of the MoU is to enable both institutions to work together to develop strong links in science.

Attending the virtual signing ceremony at University of York were: Professor Dr. Brian Fulton (Dean of the Faculty of Sciences), Professor Dr. Neil Bruce (Director of Centre for Novel Agricultural Products, Faculty of Sciences), Professor Dr. Sarah Thompson (Associate Dean Research, Faculty of Sciences), Professor Dr. James Moir (Head of Department Biology, Faculty of Sciences) and Mr. Edward Green (Global Partnerships Officer). At UTM, the attendees were Assoc. Prof. Dr. Mohd Ariffin Abu Hassan (Associate Director Global Education & Experience, UTM International), Professor Dr. Abdull Rahim Mohd Yusoff (Dean, Faculty of Science), Prof. Dr. Fadhilah Yusof (Deputy Dean: Academic & Student Affairs, Faculty of Science), Dr. Ezza Syuhada Sazali (Assistant Dean: External & Global Engagements), Assoc. Prof. Dr. Shafinaz Shahir (Director of Biosciences Department, Faculty of Science), Assoc. Prof. Dr. Goh Kian Mau (Biosciences Department, Faculty of Science), Dr. Adibah Yahya (Biosciences Department, Faculty of Science), Dr. Chong Chun Shiong (Biosciences Department, Faculty of Science) and Dr. Sheela Chandren as emcee of the ceremony (Chemistry Department, Faculty of Science).